Cuba implements actions to stop the spread of Covid-19



Santiago de Cuba province has been returned to authochthonus stage

Havana, January 16 (RHC)-- The Temporary Working Group for the Control of Covid-19 in Cuba approved on Friday the regression of several territories to the pandemic's epidemic stage to stop its spread.

Matanzas, Guantanamo, and Santiago de Cuba provinces will move to the limited autochthonous transmission phase due to the deterioration of its epidemiological indicators.

Until Friday, Havana was the only province of the country in that condition.

According to Deputy Prime Minister Roberto Morales, it was also determined to return 29 new municipalities to the phase of limited native transmission, bringing to 63 the total municipalities in that stage. Cuba has 168 municipalities.

Prime Minister, Manuel Marrero, called for work on solving the problems detected so far, such as low levels of research on vulnerable groups and contacts, delays in carrying out PCR tests, and the delay in starting surveillance on travelers who remain in the communities.

He added that it is necessary to change modes of action to think differently because actions are clearly not giving the necessary results, given the current situation.

In general, Cuba maintains four provinces (Las Tunas, Holguín, Sancti Spíritus and Granma) and the special municipality Isle of Youth under the indicators of the new normality. Still, the other territories are moving between the epidemic stage and phases three and one of recovery.

 $\frac{https://www.radiohc.cu/en/noticias/nacionales/244782-cuba-implements-actions-to-stop-the-spread-of-covid-19}{19}$



Radio Habana Cuba